Ask Dave – Question: I am a receptionist at my job and I fought my way through the snow drifts to get to work last week and when I arrived I found the office was closed for the day. I just got my paycheck and my employer paid me for three hours of work at $8.00 an hour. I thought I was entitled to reporting pay at my regular hourly wage of $16.00 per hour?
Answer: Reporting Pay. When an employee who is scheduled to work three or more hours reports for duty at the time set by the employer, and that employee is not provided with the expected hours of work, the employee should be paid for at least three hours on such day at no less than the basic minimum wage. So, your employer could have paid you at your regular rate of $16.00 per hour, but is only required to pay you for the three hours at minimum wage (Since you work in Massachusetts, minimum wage is $8.00 per hour). This provision does not apply to organizations granted status as charitable organizations under the Internal Revenue Code.
Dave Wilson has spent over two decades litigating wage and hour, employment, real estate, maritime, and general commercial disputes in the state and federal courts of Massachusetts and New Hampshire. Dave spends a significant amount of his time acting as a business partner with his clients, counseling and training them in all areas of employment relations law. Please visit the Hirsch Roberts Weinstein LLP website for more information.